Wanna be a Good Writer? Come to Workshop

“Now you will give comment, take your position but oh no…She said it already”

“You donkey, don’t you? This time you have failed also”

No no, don’t think anyone scolding me. It was my fight with myself for presenting my comment to my peers in writing workshop. I guess every classmate of mine has got this feeling as I did since it was like “I want to tell first” competition type because professor strongly recommended about everyone’s participation. So, everyone tried their highest to give as much comment as they can to get good participation mark.

I know now I am a bad guy. You will say “this girl is so mean, she is just thinking about grade”.

But I am not saying that the comments that we presented to our classmates for their paper was for grade only, yeah I haven’t said that. Because how can I deny that after this workshop I again looked at my paper, check that how to relate the memories or the events by one theme and rethink the significance of describing those events that I have described in my essay although I was not from those students who were getting comments. I cannot reject one of my acquaintance’s critiques to another student about every paragraph, how to build communication with the sentences, structure and how to explain clearly what we want to express actually, how is it important to use appropriate words and to make sense of the things. From this workshop I came to know also about using provocative dialogues and specific description of food which will make our paper attractive and enjoyable. How can I refuse the useful comments of improving introduction and conclusions in which I am weak and feel difficulties most of the times when I start to write something?

I am a shy person and I always fear about critiquing someone but I don’t leave any chance to praise or giving compliment to others. I believe myself that as I am not a perfect writer and good student how can I critique someone else’s paper because if I would give feedback that time I could improve my writing but I can’t. I know you are again thinking that how dumped and unconfident this girl is but I rarely do care because I am telling truth. In workshop also I battled with my own thought of “what she will think, what if she laugh at me or ignore me or what if she gives me a neglected look”. I was also feeling uncomfortable thinking that what if my comment makes her sad or disappointing because I don’t want to hurt anyone. However, while I gave writing comments in my peers’ paper I felt I am a teacher and cutting my students’ exam paper which was fun. Also, after giving each comment my confidence level was increasing. Although I don’t know that my comments was helpful or not for my peers I enjoyed giving them the comments because I felt I became matured. Also our professor’s encouraging words “you guys are doing great” has increased my confidence level.

Human beings are curious in nature especially about others life and in writing workshop we got this valuable opportunity to learn about some chapters of our peers’ lives. While reading I became nostalgic, even some of the events were so similar with my life events that I felt I am reading my own story. That’s why when Priyanka said that her mom used to ask every day to her that what she should cook, I heard my mom’s worrying voice saying same question to me every day. June’s birthday party take me to my own birthday party where my family members participate to celebrate and my grandma, aunt used to help my mom in cooking. Urmi’s suffering of obesity recall the comments of people that they give for my fat body.

It was really thoughtful workshop having lots of discussion and come up with some ideas about how to improve writing. It was helpful for my own essay as I realized some of mistakes also. However, if the workshop would be less competitive and the environment would be easier than we will be able to give our comments freely.

 

Leave a comment