Chinese!!! :D Chinese!! : ) Chinese! : ( [sohana urmi]

“Hey, Miti, Antara, and Urmi!! Let’s go to the Chinese restaurant which had opened recently. I am very interested to visit the restaurant as it is the first Chinese restaurant in our town.I am listening about it from lots of people.”
We smiled at Rumpa as her excitement seemed interesting to us. It was true that as a first foreign cosine restaurant it was centre of attraction for my townpeople. Miti and Antara informed that they had visited the restaurant with their family members one or two times and the food was mediocre. Moreover, they informed that it would not be so expensive for us as we were not going to pay from our pocket money. Thus, one day in the college we made a plan to eat in the new restaurant called “Utshab” and served “Chinese food”.
As I did not have any experience eating Chinese food before that, so I was really waiting for the day, though I did not express my feeling to my friends. Whatever, the desired day came and I told my mother,
“Don’t cook for me! I am going to have lunch in the new Chinese restaurant with my friend!”
After sometime my friends came and called me. I got ready and walked with them to the restaurant as it was near to my home. It was 2pm and I was thinking that how the situation would be in the restaurant. My friends told that it was in the second floor and we saw decorated stair case and entrance. When we entered in the room, we found it pretty darkish as we came from sun. After some second we heard someone welcoming us. We were the only customers at that time and assumed that people would love to come here at dinner time. However, as we ha came , we had to take our lunch. We chose a table in the corner and were watching the decoration of the restaurant. It was pretty good with less light and air conditioner. The tables and chairs were well arranged and decorated with flowers. After we seat down, one man came and gave us a menu card. Then we started to discuss what we could take within our budget as well as what would be testy to eat. Passing the card one person to another and announcing various soup’s names and chicken dishes we ordered fried rice, chicken fry and Thai soup. I cannot remember the actual names for these dishes, but that time after ordering we were waiting to be thrilled by the Chinese food. After 10 or 12 minutes they served the soup and the appearance of it did not impress me at all. However, when I tested one spoonful soup, I recognized only egg in the it and other ingredients were unknown to me. The vegetable, I did not know it was from China or Thailand, was not boiled and made the soup unable to unknown to me and I just stared to my friend’s face. I saw similar expressions on their face and I knew that time that “We are really enjoying the food”!
I told them that as it was a Chinese restaurant and served Thai soup, it was not good. “Let’s see what will be served next”! When the dishes arrived, we were surprised. We ordered for full chicken and there were tiny seven piece of chicken! We ordered rice with strange Chinese name and fried rice was served fool with egg! We laughed with surprise and sadness. Why did we come here for that kind of …….!! What to say. We did not have words to explain our feelings. I was shocked when I found that the rice was fired by “Ghee” or clarified butter which could not be smelled by me. My friends were ok with it, though the main thing was egg in the rice and someone told us to investigate the chicken that were there any chicken or they fried egg and served as “chicken fry”!! However, I struggled a lot to swallow te mouthful rice and then told the waiter to pack the food I ordered. I took it to home and told my mother,
“Pleas Mom, share the food with dad. I could not eat as it was with ghee and give me something to eat. I am dying for hunger”!
My mother laughed and said that she did not cook for me!!!!
This is the story of having my first experience of having Chinese food and I decided that it would be logical not trying Chinese food in Bangladesh rather going Chinese and ask them to serve me something special!

Leave a comment