Workshop: The Helpful Hand for Writing

“So today we are going to start our workshop. Are you all excited?” Miss Dayna started the Tuesday class reminding us about our workshop for our personal essays. I was little bit nervous when we all seated on a circle, and formally Miss Dayna handed over the discussion about our peer’s paper. I was tensed whether I could evaluate my peer’s paper effectively, or I could not. In the same time, I was thinking if they would feel bad when I would share her faults in front of the whole class.

However, likewise the other new things workshop seemed difficult to me, I could overcome it after few minutes. Since Miss Dayna teaching us so many new things, and they seemed difficult at first glance, but her efficient teaching style and helpful mind always help me to cope up the difficulties and find interest on those unknown topics which at last make me friendly with those new lessons or styles. Similarly, Miss Dayna’s supportive voice praised after the first peer review, “You guys are really doing a wonderful job. I am really proud of you.” The appreciation from Miss Dayna’s smiley face logged out the nervousness and tension from my mind to participate in the workshop more actively.

The workshop was not only about to help our peers and improve our writings. It also teaches us how to critic other people for their betterment. At first we have to mention the positive aspects of the paper then politely we can give suggestions for our peers which give us the sense how to act with people when we will bring out their mistakes. Besides, the workshop also shows that if we do not be critic this won’t be helpful for our peers at al. Therefore, we need to be specific to give valuable feedbacks for my peers’ paper so that my comment can help her to find her faults and improve her writing. Through this workshop we learn how to be specific and careful for our observation to find out to improve any situation.

I found that workshop is really a helpful guideline to improve our writing. While we were discussing about the papers, I found many different ideas about the improvement of the paper. In some cases I found that when one was giving one suggestion, then another idea was knocking in my mind to make the paper more effective. We discussed about tone, reflection, dialogues, explicit details, voice structure, and connection between stories, and different style. Through workshop I had a better sense about different writing style. Moreover, the discussion helped not only to give feedback for my peers’ paper but it also made me conscious about my own paper. The discussion about the papers will help me to find out the mistakes from my paper. Since different people’s idea made more clear idea about the required materials of a personal essay, I can improve my paper with a clear sense to my paper more strong with dialogues, structure, tones, reflection, and connection the theme in my essay.

Indeed, the workshop was helpful for all the students to get a clear idea about what to do in papers and also some idea of being a good critique. Still participating all students and without repeating the same ideas we may create a more interesting and successful workshop.

Leave a comment